European Coffee Awards Video's

he European Coffee Awards recognise companies and individuals who have made the most outstanding contributions within the European coffee shop and food-to-go markets. Uniquely, the winners are identified solely on peer nominations.

Allegra invited more than 10,000 industry executives to nominate, through a targeted campaign. The awards winners are the companies and individuals who received the most nominations within each category.

Among the many award winning categories the Benelux countries were represented by Caffenation, Moniek Smit, CoffeeCompany and Henk Langkemper.Reknowned brands like La Marzocco (Best Coffee Equipment Supplier), Brita (Best Non-Coffee Supplier), McCafé (two awards for Best Coffee Chain - "Germany & Austria" and also for France & Switzerland )  received an award from Allegra.

Others reached second and third places in their group. Coca Cola (3rd Place Best Non-Coffee Supplier). In the category Best Independent Coffee Shop - Benelux Hopper (Rotterdam), The Village Coffee & Music (Utrecht) 2nd and 3rd place.

More than 350 senior executives from across the coffee and food-to-go sectors gathered for a night of celebration on 21 November at the Passenger Terminal Amsterdam, where the award winners were honoured during a black tie gala dinner and ceremony, featuring very special guest host BBC comedian Henning Wehn.


Best Coffee Chain - UK & IE
Winner - Costa Coffee
2nd Place and Runner-up - Caffè Nero
3rd Place and Highly Commended - Starbucks Coffee Company

Best Coffee Chain - Germany & Austria
Winner McCafé
2nd Place and Runner-up: Starbucks Coffee Company
3rd Place and Highly Commended: Coffeeshop Company

Best Coffee Chain - France & Switzerland
Winner: McCafé
2nd Place and Runner up- Starbucks Coffee Company
3rd Place and Highly Commended - PAUL

Best Coffee Chain – Italy - Espressamente illy
2nd Place and Runner up - Caffè Pascucci
3rd Place and Highly Commended - McCafé 

Best Coffee Chain – Benelux- Winner- CoffeeCompany

Best Coffee Chain – Benelux - CoffeeCompany
2nd Place and Runner up -  Starbucks Coffee Company
3rd Place and Highly Commended - EXKi

Best Independent Coffee Shop - Benelux- Caffènation (Antwerp)

Best Independent Coffee Shop - Benelux - Caffènation (Antwerp)
2nd Place and Runner up-  Hopper Coffee (Rotterdam)
3rd Place and Highly Commended - The Village Coffee & Music (Utrecht)


Best Non-Coffee Supplier- Brita Professional

Best Coffee Chain Europe  -  Costa Coffee

Best Independent Coffee Shop - Prufrock Coffee

Best Coffee Roaster- United Coffee

Best Coffee Equipment Supplier -  La Marzocco


The following persons were recognised at the awards ceremony for their contribution to the coffee industry in their country or across Europe.

 ‘Outstanding Contribution to the European Coffee Industry’


Matts  Johansson, CEO, da Matteo

Colin Smith, Founder, Smiths Coffee Company

Johanna Wechselberger, Owner, Vienna School of Coffee

Henk Langkemper, Managing Director, Espresso Service West

Moniek Smit, Founder, Coffee Consulting

Vicki Fuller, Senior Director, McDonald’s APMEA

Julian Metcalfe, Co-Founder, Pret A Manger

Lifetime Award
Louie Salvoni, Managing Director, Espresso Service